How to make your own mayonnaise

A few disclaimers here.

1. I don’t really eat mayonnaise.  If I had to choose I’d pick Miracle Whip, but I really just don’t eat things that require mayo as a condiment.

2. Mayo is not the most attractive thing to photograph, so if you have a weak stomach, I’ve put the recipe first. :)

That said, my husband eats a turkey sandwich every.day. for lunch. I was told making your own mayo was easy and, obviously, would have way less crap in it. So, I gave it a go.

Ingredients:

DSC_2245 DSC_2249

2 eggs

2 cups of light tasting olive oil (not pictured)

2 Tablespoons of apple cider vinegar

1 teaspoon of mustard (not pictured)

1 teaspoon of sea salt

Cayenne pepper to taste

Other necessary items: a blender and a jar (I use leftover salsa jars, but mason jars or pasta jars work too).

I’m still getting a handle on this blogging thing, so I didn’t get a ton of pictures of the “in process” part. I promise it’s easy. Just add everything but the olive oil to the blender. Blend well. The HARDEST part is this next step. It’s only hard because it tests your patience. Keep the blender running on its lowest setting, and SLOWLY drizzle the olive oil into the blender. You really need to do this almost drop by drop. This part takes up 9/10 of the time it takes to make your own mayo. Just be patient. The olive oil, blending slowly, allows the mixture to thicken over time. When you’re done adding the olive oil, do a quick taste test. You can add whatever spices you want. I sometimes use honey mustard instead of yellow mustard, and I often add more cayenne pepper, but the beauty of making mayo at home is that you can make it to your liking. I think I’m going to add wasabi next time. Here’s the final product:DSC_2250 DSC_2251 DSC_2252

 

Enjoy!  And definitely let me know if you come up with any great mayo recipes!

Say hello with a little note!

